Sunshine ~ SOLSC ~ 7/31

SOLSC2014I leaned on the dark brick of the building,
wearing my coat and scarf out of habit,
my face turned up toward the brilliance overhead.

I listened as a teacher jingled the bell, and
watched as kids filed into two lines at the stairs,
flushed from their much-needed outdoor play.

The gift of sunshine, of rising temperatures,
and promises of once again spending hours outside
was water to my dry soul.

This post was written as part of a monthly challenge sponsored by Two Writing Teachers, to encourage writing and community.  

The goal is to write a Slice of Life entry each day throughout the month of March.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One Response

Page 1 of 1
  1. Crystal Brooks 03/08/2014 at 1:11 pm | | Reply

    Oh I know how this feels. Yesterday outdoor recess and today it is just beautiful. Thanks for putting into words. Defiantely water to my soul!

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar