On the kitchen floor ~ SOLSC ~ 10/31

You stomped and huffed
I watched you grow bigger
And smaller
At the same time.

I breathed.
I stopped and watched
As through your
Attitude you bared
Your little soul.

I spoke. I unwound the
Barbed wire of too
Many sharp words.
I uncoiled them
And cradled you until
You gave yourself fully
Into my arms,
Resting your face
Into my shoulder.

I watched as your
Tears came and you
Confessed the
real reason
You ate snacks
In your little hideout.

We held each other
On the kitchen floor
And I was thankful
For the seeing,
The knowing,
The hearing and tears
That broke through the
Years.

I watched as you
Grew again, emboldened
By my belief in you.
I heard you own
The real reasons for
Your choice of
Snack you should pack.

I held tight to your hand
As we skipped our
Way along the path
In the evening sunshine.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 Responses

Page 1 of 1
  1. C.Crouch 03/10/2015 at 11:30 pm | | Reply

    Well spoken of a mommies thoughts..I love the structure of your words. I have moments like these and just want to break into their minds for a moment to understand their thinking and know what drives their behavior. Good for you for listening.

  2. Vanessa Vaile 03/11/2015 at 2:35 pm | | Reply

    So good for “another late night hasty post.” Speaking from my own slicing habits: is there any other kind?

    http://vcvaile.blogger.com

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar