Oh What Fun….

it is to read with a pillow in our room, Hey!  Ok, so it’s a bit early for Christmas carols, but yes I am one of those put-your-fake tree-up-the-day-after-Thanksgiving people anyway.  But the point of this post is to report the resounding success we’ve had with our Teen Read Week celebration.

Sadly, my life has become so unbelievably filled with school and personal extra-curricular activities, that one of my favorite hobbies (writing/blogging) has been back-burned slightly.  I would have loved to report on this last week to let you know what we were planning, but I didn’t get around to it.

In any case, students have spent the past two days in comfy clothes, dragging their pillows and blankeys into our English classroom which has been temporarily transformed.  All the desks have been relocated and the floor is free game!  Surprisingly, students really prefer to perch around the periphery of the room instead of laying in the nice open space in the middle.  Yet wherever they’ve chosen to rest their heads, it’s been great to see them filling their minds with the wonderful stories housed between the covers of a book. 

Be sure to swing by our Edline page where I will post a picture on each class’ homepage.  (Can I be honest…I really had to check with a few people about the whole s-apostrophe thing and I still don’t know if we’re 100% right!).  In any case, I hope to get photos uploaded this evening so you can check them out.

My apologies for not getting this posted last week as intended, but with the crazy schedule, moving furniture in and out of our classroom, plus planning my husband’s surprise birthday party, time just got away from me. 

How about you? What has been vying for your time lately?  How do you balance work, family, hobbies, etc?  What’s the one thing that you always make time for and the one thing you wish you did?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One Response

Page 1 of 1
  1. Mary Sprunger 10/25/2007 at 12:04 pm | | Reply

    Funny you write about this, I have been sooooooo busy lately! I feel like I never get a chance to sit down and rest. As it is, I am reading this and writing this reply while at work. The reason I have time is because they have closed half of our rooms for construction! The place is a mess!!!
    Anyway, Life in general keeps me busy. Days that I think I have time to enjoy and relax become full with a phone call. If I have a few minutes at home I need to catch up on housework (those people that can keep their house spotless and work have me completely amazed!). I always find time for family (never enough, I know) and exercise. I feel dumpy if I don’t get my heart rate up at some point during the day!

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar